Photo: ESPN
Photo: ESPN

In the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup, New Zealand has set a target of 201 runs to win the defending champion Australia.

In the opening match of the Super 12 stage, Group 1 Australia is facing New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground, where Australia won the toss and decided to field.

New Zealand’s innings:

Batting first, the Kiwis scored 200 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in the allotted 20 overs, with New Zealand opener Dion Conway playing an unbeaten innings of 92 runs off 58 balls.

Apart from this, Finn Allen scored 42 runs off 16 balls, captain Kane Williamson scored 23 runs, Glenn Phillips scored 12 runs while James Neesham remained not out scoring 26 runs.

Josh Hazlewood took two wickets while Adam Zampa took one wicket for Australia.

Afghanistan and England will face each other in the second match today.

Australian team:

The Australian team includes David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoins, Tim David, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Pete Cummins, Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.

New Zealand Team:

The New Zealand team includes Finn Allen, Dion Conway, Glenn Phillips, captain Kane Williamson, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ash Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult.

It should be noted that in the first stage of the T20 World Cup qualifying matches were played, a total of 8 teams were divided into two groups (Group A and Group B) for the tournament.